Aluminum Bottle CANnoisseurs

Eighth Annual Meeting; August 28, 2014; Fort Worth, Texas

The meeting was called to order by President Bill Viancourt #132. Officers and Board member were introduced: Vice President Joe Hobaugh #69, Newsletter Editor Brad Ambruso #7, and Board Members Cristian DeAntoni#195, Juan Carlos DeMarco #31, and Joe Germino #4. The president also introduced the founding member of the ABC chapter, Bob Renforth #1, who was in attendance at the meeting. Secretary/Treasurer Butch Kroskey #8 was unable to attend due to medical reasons.

Vice President Joe Hobaugh #69 read the minutes from the previous meeting. Al Kell #17 moved to approve the minutes and it was seconded by Kurt Schmidt #111.

President Bill Viancourt #132 gave an abbreviated Treasures report. At this moment, the balance of accounts was \$2907.44 with no outstanding debts. We had 121 paid members and have recently purged 32 members for non-payment of dues.

OLD BUSINESS CHAIR:

President Bill Viancourt #132 reminded all members about the importance in participating in the nomination of bottles of the year. He also indicated that there were no responses to the tabled issue of becoming involved in some form of philanthropic activity revolving around our hobby. The idea will be revisited based on interested expressed by the membership. Bill reminded everyone that the chapter still had plenty of T shirts available for sale.

Newsletter Editor Brad Ambruso #7 announced his resignation from his position as editor. With the help of the board, he is actively looking for a replacement. He also talked about the use of the chapter Facebook page. There has been a great amount of traffic and he will continue to monitor the activity. He also indicated that the Website in currently being updated. Brad will continue to be the "webmaster" for the site. The President, will send an abbreviated version of the newsletter every two months until a new editor is found.

Old Business FLOOR: None

NEW BUSINESS CHAIR:

President Bill Viancourt #132 announced that dues for most members were due at this time. Dues will be collected at the end of the meeting and at the chapter table tomorrow and Saturday.

Juan Carlos Demarco #31 gave a report about the upcoming Brewery Collectors World Convention that will be held in conjunction with the BCCA Canvention in 2015 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. They are expecting a sizeable numbers of foreign members to be present. As aluminum bottle are a major collecting area for these members, Juan asked the chapter to participate in the activities involving banners and signage at Canvention.

John Fatura #15 spoke about the desire of the BCCA to work with the BCWC on Canvention activities.

Juan Carlos DeMarco #31 made a motion the ABC chapter become a member of the BCWC. He stated that there would be no cost to join. Keith Bennett #138 from Australia affirmed the desire of the BCWC to have the ABC as a member organization. Motion was seconded by Steve Blume #13. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

President Bill Viancourt #132 reopened a discussion about the failed vote from 2012 to allow non BCCA members to belong to the ABC Chapter.

A very lengthy discussion followed. Bob Renforth #1, Toby Hicks #5, John Fatura #15, Tom Fay #92, and Bruce Gregg #3 all spoke of the original intention of the chapter to be exclusive to BCCA members. Toby Hicks #5 clarified the fact that two officers and 10 members are were needed to have a chapter affiliated with the BCCA. Bruce Hicks indicated that less that 10 of the 109 active chapters had the requirement of membership in the BCCA to belong to their chapter. Kurt Schmidt #111 made the motion to allow non BCCA members to become members of the ABC Chapter. Juan Carlos DeMarco #31 seconded the motion. The motion passed by the count of 22 for and 19 against.

Toby Hicks #5 made a motion to set dues for non BCCA members at \$10.00 per year. Juan Carlos DeMarco #31 seconded the motion. The motion failed by a count of 18 for and 19 against.

Election of Officers – The chair presented the slate of officers for the next two years: Bill Viancourt #132 President, Joe Hobaugh #69 Vice President, Butch Kroskey #8 Secretary/Treasurer, and Board Members Cristian DeAntoni #195, Juan Carlos DeMarco #31, and Joe Germino #4. There was no nomination from the board for the position of Newsletter Editor. There were no other members who had indicated a desire to run for any office. The floor was open for nominations. Al Kell #17 moved to accept the slate of officers presented. Ron Geisler #121 seconded. By acclamation, the motion passed.

A motion to adjourn was made by Brad Ambruso #7 and was seconded by Steve Blume #13 at 6:00.

Respectfully submitted,

Joe Hobaugh, Vice President #69